Appellate, Federal, & Local Rules
Court Holidays
Court Locations
Court Reporters
Central Violations Bureau
District Statistics
Fee Schedule
Other Helpful Links
Judges' Calendars
Directory & Biographies
Judges' Policies & Procedures
Standing Orders
Opinions/Notable Cases
General Information
Jury Plan
Trial Jurors Handbook
Grand Jurors Handbook
Austin Jury Instructions
Del Rio Jury Instructions
El Paso Jury Instructions
Midland/Odessa Jury Instructions
Pecos Jury Instructions
San Antonio Jury Instructions
Waco Jury Instructions
Application for Admission to Practice
Change of Address
Certificate of Good Standing
Mediator Information
Pro Bono Civil Appointments
Approved Surety List
Service of Process
Federal Records Center
Courtroom Technology
Registry Funds Information
U.S. Attorney (Texas/Western), Illegal Reentry Fast-Track Program
Cash Bail Forms
CJA Panel Standing Order, Questionnaire and Application
eVoucher Training Materials
Helpful Links
Alternative Dispute Resolution

Judges' Directory & Biographies

Back to List 

Address: 655 E. Cesar E. Chavez Blvd., San Antonio, TX 78206
Chambers Phone No.: (210) 472-5870
Fax Number: (210) 472-4747

Staff Information:

Courtroom Deputy:
Ms. Tiffany Ramaekers
Courtroom Deputy Phone:
(210) 472-6550, ext. 5016
Courtroom Deputy Email:
Assigned Court Reporter:

Biographical Information:

Year Service Began:
Appointed By:
President Ronald Reagan
  • Juris Doctor, St. Mary's University School of Law, 1972
    • Graduated first in class
Legal Practice:
  • Anthony, Hoddick, Reinwald & O'Connor, 1972-1980
    • Partner, 1976-1980
  • Ezra, O'Connor, Moon & Tam, 1980-1988
    • Managing Partner, 1981-1988
Military Service:
  • United States Army
    • Commissioned Officer, 1971-1977
Judicial Experience:
  • Chief Judge, United States District Court for the District of Hawaii, 1999-2005
  • Judge, United States District Court, 1988-present
  • Hawaii State Bar Association
  • Rosewood Gavel Award, 2007
  • Lifetime Achievement Award, University of Hawaii 2013
Community Service:
  • Member, Judicial Conference of the United States, 2002-2005
  • Member, Judicial Conference Budget and Finance Advisory Council
  • Former Vice President, member of Board of Directors, and member of Executive Committee, United States Federal Judges Association
  • Former member, Judicial Council of the Ninth Circuit
  • Former member of Executive Committee, Ninth Circuit Judicial Conference
  • Former member, Judicial Conference Committee on Administration of the Bankruptcy System
  • Former member, Court-Council Committee on Bankruptcy Appointments
  • Former member, Evaluation Committee of the Ninth Circuit
  • Former member, Pacific Islands Committee of the Ninth Circuit
  • Former member of Board of Directors, Ninth Judicial Circuit Historical Society
  • Former President, Ninth Circuit United States District Judges Association
  • Former member, Board of Trustees of St. Louis High School
  • Adjunct Professor of Law, William S. Richardson School of Law, 1978-2012